You are here: Home // News // London 2012 Olympic BMX – Who Will Win?

London 2012 Olympic BMX – Who Will Win?

the BMX track for the London 2012 Olympic BMX event - seeding runs are underway todayThe London 2012 Olympic BMX time trials are literally about to begin, with the women riders starting first at 3.00pm and the men hitting the track at 3.40pm. Today’s runs will decide the groupings for quarterfinals and semifinals, ensuring that the fastest riders don’t meet until Friday’s final.

Here’s our pick of the top contenders for medal success:

The Men

Sam Willoughby (Australia)

One half of the Australian golden couple, who could well put an end to the British dominance of Olympic cycling races. Very hotly tipped for success after his World Championship win this year.

Joris Daudet (France)

Daudet was the 2011 World Champion. He followed up this success in Birmingham this year when he took the silver after being beaten into second place by Aussie rider, Sam Willoughby. Daudet has been demonstrating top form lately.

Maris Strombergs (Latvia)

Beijing 2008 Gold medal winner. Stromberg has had an underwhelming season so far this year, but remains a serious contender.

Marc Willers (New Zealand)

USA-based Marc Willers is confident he can get another medal for the highly performing Team New Zealand.

David Herman (USA)

Herman is the United States’ top rated rider. He automatically qualified for inclusion in Team USA as a result. He has had the benefit of some of the very best BMX training facilities on the face of the planet and is hotly tipped for medal success.

Liam Phillips (Great Britain)

A broken collarbone following the World Championships this year negatively impacted on Phillip’s pre-games training, but his determination levels more than make up for this limitation. Phillips was second in this year’s World Championship time trials.


The Women

Caroline Buchanan (Australia)

A favourite for a medal at London 2012, Caroline is possibly peaking at just the right time to take the win in London. She got the two fastest times at the World Championship time trials earlier this year.

Alise Post (USA)

Known as the “Beast”, Alise Post has been racing since the age of six. The 21-year-old has no major titles to her name yet, but has been achieving strong results lately.

Mariana Pajon (Columbia)

With five World Championship golds behind her Pajon is a serious contender for Gold. The 20-year-old rider is a BMX phenomenon, known as the Queen of BMX.

Shanaze Reade (Great Britain)

Shanaze Reade sensationally crashed out of the Beijing Games in 2008, bringing an end to high hopes of a British gold. She has three world championship golds under her belt and took the second fastest time at this year’s time trials in Birmingham.

Laetitia Le Corguille (France)

French rider Laetitia Le Corguille took the silver medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and also has one World Championship title under her belt.

Magalie Pottier (France)

2012 World Champion, Magalie Pottier is a very strong contender for the podium.


Words By A.L.Cuin

Photograph by Sabbath Photography (Flickr Creative Commons)

Tags: Alise Post, BMX, Caroline Buchanan, David Herman, Laetitia Le Corguille, Liam Phillips, London 2012, Magalie Pottier, Marc Willers, Mariana Pajon, Maris Stromberg, Olympic Games, Sam Willoughby, Shanaze Reade, Time Trials, Who will win?

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2013 Love Extreme Sports. All rights reserved.