You are here: Home // News // BMX – Nora Cup Award Winners 2012

BMX – Nora Cup Award Winners 2012

Garrett Reynolds Scores Again At the Nora Cup Awards 2012.

Leigh Ramsdell presents the night's proceedings at the 2012 Nora Cup Awards in Las Vegas.

The 16th installment of Ride BMX’s Nora Cup Awards took place in Las Vegas at the weekend. The great and the good of the riding world gathered at the Venetian Hotel and Casino to watch this year’s prizes being handed out by the likes of Leigh Ramsdell, Shad Johnson, Jason Enns, Josh Heino, Brian Lopes, Hal Brindley, Tony Murray and Brian Tunney.

The ceremony also included video contributions from BMX legends, such as Tim “Fuzzy” Hall, Mat Hoffman, Mike Escamilla and Brian Foster, as well as a tribute to the those pro riders who have sadly passed away since the last awards in 2011 – Rickey Bates, Gary Dimartine, Dane Searls, Randy Taylor and Mike Tagliavento.

Man of few words, Garrett Reynolds, emerged as the star winner of the night, taking his fifth consecutive Nora Cup Award in the street category. The 22-year-old rider adds the award to an ever growing pile of trophies and medals that includes five consecutive X-Games golds. Reynolds accepted the award in person, but made his appearance on stage brief, explaining that he didn’t like speaking in front of large crowds. The New Jersey BMXer managed to give a shout out to his supporters before disappearing back into the crowd.

Reigning BMX racing World Champion, Sam Willoughby took the award for the best racer. The Aussie rider is currently ranked number one amongst international elites, but still faced stiff competition from two-times Olympic BMX gold medalist Maris Strombergs. Strombergs’ season before London 2012 had seemed a little lacklustre, but definitely revived subsequently, making it a close call between the two riders.

Other awards on the night included Drew Bezanson for Ramp rider, Mike “Hucker” Clark Dirt rider and Yohei Uchino for best Flatland rider. Chad Kerley was “hyped’ to receive the inaugural reader’s choice award, whilst Dave Thompson took the gong for best video part, thanks to his appearance in Killjoy, which also scored the award for best video.

You can watch the full 2012 Nora Cup Awards ceremony on Ride BMX’s website (follow the link below).


Source and Image: Ride BMX

Words: Al Cuin

Tags: BMX, Nora Cup Awards 2012, winners

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2013 Love Extreme Sports. All rights reserved.